The week in FASHION 29/06

Until I get back into the swing of my style posts, I’ve decided to start doing a weekly post containing a round up of the fabulous fashiony things that have happened in the week. Just incase any of you have been swamped with work, hiding in a bubble or haven’t had time to check the web (although I highly doubt the latter), here are the top five things making headlines in the fashion world this week.

1) A COLLECTION WE’VE ALL BEEN WAITING FOR Screen shot 2014-06-29 at 15.20.07

One of THE faces of British fashion, Alexa Chung, is designing a clothing line. It’s been a long time coming, and I really hope it lives up to everyones expectations. She is said to be designing a twenty piece collection for AG Jeans which, she had said, “will focus on the missing pieces from my denim collection.” As excited as I am, I was a little disappointed to learn that it was a collection of denim. Now of course I’m a huge lover of denim – my black skinnies are practically my second skin – but Chung’s wardrobe is full of dreamy sixties inspired dresses, flared skirts and snazzy blouses,Β so why can’t we see those kind of designs from her? I’m about 90% sure that a dozen brands ( and the rest) would love to collaborate with her. OH well, for now we have to settle for a dose of denim. Better than nothing!

2)DID THEY OR DIDN’T THEY?
Screen shot 2014-06-29 at 15.55.04

She was the ultimate frenemy in ‘The City’ and the bitch that you’d never want to work with, but she’s come a long way since then -now the envy of every twenty something girl with silky, shiny hair and a wardrobe I for one would cut my left arm off for. But the question on everyone minds this week is- is Olivia Palermo married? Since finding out she was engaged, I have been part of the frenzy swooning over thoughts of what her wedding would be like – with a style as chic and classic as hers, her wedding would be the dream. However, it’s been reported that due to visa complications with her fiance, they got hitched in New York this week in a little service. I don’t know why I care so much, but I was particularly excited about seeing her wedding pictures splattered over instagram! I hope it’s not true Olivia – or if it is, at least have another pretend wedding just for us sado’s.

3)CARA GETS SLAMMED(AND SNOOZY) Screen shot 2014-06-29 at 15.21.47

If you were on Twitter this week, you would have seen Cara’s rather frantic tweets clogging up the feed and I for one was itching to find out what had angered the model of the moment. It only took a day (thank god) before we found out just who had put the bee in her bonnet (and in doing so wasn’t at all a snooze fest…) Vogue writer Plum Sykes claimed that whilst interviewing Cara for US Vogue, she fell asleep not once, but twice. Cara has denied it and hit out at Vogue saying that she works extremely hard and feeling sleepy is due her hectic schedule. PERSONALLY, as much as I love Cara, my mum works two very demanding jobs ( that don’t involve flying to exotic locations to be photographed) and manages to stay awake, so I’ll sit on the fence for this one. But don’t worry miss Delevingne, I still love ya and if I was model, I’d be doing exactly the same as you. HEY HO

4)WIMBLEDON

Screen shot 2014-06-29 at 15.44.15

If you thought that Wimbledon was about the tennis, you’re wrong. Whilst tennis fanatics have been deeply engrossed in the games this week, we, the fash pack, have got our specs out and are examining the wimbledon style. It is rather exciting seeing how the tennis stars make tennis fashionable through their own quirky outfits, but I’m all about what the tennis wives are wearing, along with the celebs on the front row seats and street style around the Wimbledon. Who’s winning it for you?

5)CARRIE BRADSHAW IS BACK

Screen shot 2014-06-29 at 15.23.08

OK she’s not, I’m BUSTED (you’ll get that in a second.) But our fave gal Sarah Jessica Park IS back but it’s not in a fashion role, instead it’s quite the opposite. SJP is set to star in a new police television drama entitled ‘Busted’ which is based on the non-fiction book β€˜Busted: A Tale of Corruption and Betrayal in the City of Brotherly Love.’ Will she be the type of a crime drama character who visits cocktails bars and wears designer shoes? Probably not. But am I still ridiculously excited to see her back on the screen? OF COURSE. First there was Hocus Pocus ( AMAZING) then there was SATC + the movies (DREAMY) and now this. If she’s starring in it, it’s just bound to be fabulous.

xoxo T
Leave a Reply

